About Continuing Education

A.T. Still University’s Continuing Education department provides support for the University’s schools, graduates and the professional community to fulfill their potential throughout their careers and ultimately impact patient care and well-being.

WE VALUE:


  • The Whole Person – Graduates and faculty and those they serve
  • Lifelong Learning – For faculty and graduates
  • Learning Together – Creating a diverse community of learners
  • Bridging Gaps – Continuing the progression
  • Encouraging and Engaging – Interprofessional learning

The Continuing Education department serves to improve professional knowledge and skills; fosters a positive impact on patient outcomes; exposes clinicians to new information; and develops an interdisciplinary, healthcare team approach to treating patients and improving community/population health through the development and implementation of cost-effective, evidence-based education programs.

ATSU fulfills a need by helping healthcare professionals keep abreast of changes in healthcare, as well as by providing a mechanism for maintenance of licensure.

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Accreditation

AOA logoA. T. Still University  is accredited by the American Osteopathic Association(AOA) to sponsor continuing medical education activities for physicians. ATSU has been awarded three-year accreditation and “Level 3 Accreditation with Commendation” status for the 2013 re-accreditation cycle, ATSU is recognized as a Category 1 CME sponsor.

As an accredited provider of CME by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), the Continuing Education department is involved early in the development of every educational activity for which category 1 credits are provided. If an activity is organized by an entity outside of Continuing Education, significant faculty involvement is required.

Dental Accreditation

The program in dental education is accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation and has been granted the accreditation status of “approval without reporting requirements”.

The Commission is a specialized accrediting body recognized by the United States Department of Education. The Commission on Dental Accreditation can be contacted at (312) 440-4653 or at 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611. The Commission’s web address is: http://ada.org/en/coda

Special Assistance/Dietary Needs

A.T. Still University/KCOM, an accredited provider of Continuing Medical Education (CME), complies with the American with Disabilities Act ~ 12112(a). If any participant is in need of special assistance or has any dietary restrictions, a written request should be submitted at least one month in advance. For additional additional assistance with your request, please call 660-626-2232.


Continuing Education Team


Continuing Education Steering Committee Members

  • Katherine Adler, DHA, FACHE+

    Katherine Adler, DHA, FACHE
    CGHS
    Associate Dean,  Academic Success and Assessment

    kadler@atsu.edu
    660.626.2709

  • Tabitha Parent Buck, AuD+

    Tabitha Parent Buck, AuD
    ASHS
    Professor and Chair, Audiology

    tparent@atsu.edu
    480.219.6021

  • Melissa Clark, OTR/L, CES, CHT+

    Melissa Clark, OTR/L, CES, CHT
    ASHS
    Assistant Professor, Occupation Therapy

    mclark@atsu.edu
    480.219.6246

  • Lloyd Cleaver, DO, FAOCD+

    Lloyd Cleaver

    Lloyd Cleaver, DO, FAOCD
    Assistant Vice President, Continuing Education
    KCOM
    Professor, Internal Medicine

    lcleaver@atsu.edu
    660.626.2232

  • Jim Farris, PT, PhD+

    Jim Farris, PT, PhD
    ASHS
    Associate Professor and Chair, Physical Therapy

    jfarris@atsu.edu
    480.219.6044

  • Norman Gevitz, PhD  (Ex Officio)+

    Norman Gevitz, PhD
    Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs

    ngevitz@atsu.edu
    660.626.2726

  • Christopher Halliday, DDS, MPH+

    Christopher Halliday, DDS, MPH
    MOSDOH
    Dean

    challiday@atsu.edu
    660.626.2800

  • Michael Kronenfeld, MBA, MLS+

    Michael Kronenfeld, MBA, MLS
    A.T. Still University Memorial Library
    University Librarian

    mkronenfeld@atsu.edu
    480.219.6091

  • Richard LaBaere II, DO, MPH, FAODME+

    Richard LaBaere II, DO, MPH, FAODME
    KCOM
    Associate Dean, Postgraduate Training and OPTI Academic Officer
    Regional Assistant Dean
    Adjunct Clinical Professor

    rlabaere@atsu.edu
    248.840.4503

  • Jay Danto, DO, C-FP+

     jay

    Jay Danto, DO, C-FP
    KCOM
    Associate Professor, Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine

    jdanto@atsu.edu
    660.626.2304
    linkedin

  • James Burkett, MS, EMT-P, PA-C, DFAAPA+

     jimburke

    James Burkett, MS, EMT-P, PA-C, DFAAPA
    Director, Advanced Physician Assistant Degree Program
    Director, Residential Simulation & Skills
    Assistant Professor, A.T. Still University
    Vice-President, American Academy of PAs in Legal Medicine
    Distinguished Fellow, American Academy of Physician Assistants
    Senior Fellow, Society of Emergency Medicine Physician Assistants

    jburkett@atsu.edu
    480.265.8033

  • Jan Baum, MA  (Ex Officio)+

    Jan Baum, MA
    Director, Continuing Education

    jsbaum@atsu.edu
    480.265.8077

  • Ann Boyle, DMD, MA  (Ex Officio)+

    boyle-ann-small

    Ann M. Boyle, DMD, MA
    Associate Vice President, Academic Innovation

    aboyle@atsu.edu
    480.219.6107

  • Barbara Maxwell, PT, DPT, MSc, Cert THE, FNAP+

    maxwell-barbara-small

    ​Barbara Maxwell, PT, DPT, MSc, Cert THE, FNAP
    Director, Interprofessional Education and Collaboration

    bmaxwell@atsu.edu
    480.219.6109

  • Jeffrey Morgan, DO, MA, FACOI+

    Jeffrey Morgan, DO, MA, FACOI
    SOMA
    Acting Dean

    jmorgan01@atsu.edu
    480.265.8017

  • Monica Williamson Nenad, DHEd, MEd, RDH+

    monica

    Monica Williamson Nenad, DHEd, MEd, RDH
    ASDOH
    Director of Faculty Development and Accreditation
    and Continuing Dental Education
    Assistant Professor

    mnenad@atsu.edu
    480.219.6086

  • Sharon Obadia, DO+

    Sharon Obadia, DO
    SOMA
    Director, Faculty Development
    Director, Medical Skills Course, OMS I & OMS II
    Internal Medicine Diplomate, American Board of Internal Medicine
    Assistant Professor

    sobadia@atsu.edu
    480.245.6254

  • Patricia Sexton, DHEd, FNAOME+

    Patricia Sexton, DHEd, FNAOME
    KCOM
    Associate Dean, Curriculum
    Director, Education Development and Services
    Associate Professor, Family Medicine, Preventive Medicine and Community Health

    psexton@atsu.edu
    660.626.2294

  • Alison Snyder Valier, PhD, ATC+

    Alison Snyder Valier, PhD, ATC
    ASHS
    Assistant Director, Research Support
    Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Health Sciences

    arsnyder@atsu.edu
    480.219.6034

 

The CESC members have indicated they have no relevant financial relationships to disclose.